Skip to content

Loosing Teeth

December 9, 2011

Today, a moment I have been anticipating for some time.  My son looked up at me with eyes full of wonder.  In his hand he held his first baby tooth.  It has been loose for weeks, and this morning we visited the orthodontist to have an impression taken of his mouth to fit him for an appliance.  Taking the impression must have helped things along, because for hours after we left I could see him worrying that tooth with his tongue.

Tonight I hold this tiny pearl in my hand, after retrieving it from under his pillow and leaving a twonie in its place.  It reminds me of my first attempts at writing here.  The pieces are present in my mind, growing more irritating and harder to ignore, until they finally end up on the page; a pulpy, bloody mess but a part of me nonetheless.  I read the words and feel a little revolted but mostly proud, knowing that it’s part of the process of growing into who I’m meant to be.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

